Questions concerning freepia / Linux

Post your future ideas here.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Questions concerning freepia / Linux

Postby ClarkKent » Tue Dec 20, 2005 4:54 pm

Hi,

I am looking for a HTPC but was disappointed about the long boot times that "usual" systems (mainly based on Windows Media Center Edition) require. So I came across different Linux-based solutions while googling the internet. Due to the fact that I do not know very much about Linux I have several questions:

Is freepia an operating system? If not: What for would I need it?

Do I need freepia in order to use freevo?

To speed up the booting I am considering to use a motherboard with a LinuxBios (e.g., pre-installed on an EPIA M10000). Would this make a Linux-OS unnecessary or do I still need it?

Would it be enough to have LinuxBios and freevo for an HTPC?

Could I use the "CrossOver Office" (a software that enables you to use Windows programs under Linux, see http://www.codeweavers.com/ )?

Thanks a lot for your answers!
ClarkKent
Freepia Freshmeat!
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 4:30 pm

Postby ClarkKent » Wed Dec 21, 2005 10:56 am

I think I can answer my questions myself:

Is freepia an operating system? If not: What for would I need it?
Yes, it is an OS particularly designed for a "lean" media system.

Do I need freepia in order to use freevo?
No, any other Linux distribution could be used as well.

To speed up the booting I am considering to use a motherboard with a LinuxBios (e.g., pre-installed on an EPIA M10000). Would this make a Linux-OS unnecessary or do I still need it?
A Linux-OS would be still necessary.

Would it be enough to have LinuxBios and freevo for an HTPC?
No, a Linux-OS is needed.

Could I use the "CrossOver Office" (a software that enables you to use Windows programs under Linux, see http://www.codeweavers.com/ )?
Yes, this would be possible with freepia because it is an Linux-OS.

Could anybody verify my answers?
ClarkKent
Freepia Freshmeat!
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 4:30 pm

Postby the2nd » Wed Dec 21, 2005 10:32 pm

Could I use the "CrossOver Office" (a software that enables you to use Windows programs under Linux, see http://www.codeweavers.com/ )?
Yes, this would be possible with freepia because it is an Linux-OS.

Could anybody verify my answers?

[/quote]

yes, but not out of the box.... :)

regards
the2nd
User avatar
the2nd
Freepia *maker*
 
Posts: 456
Joined: Sun May 25, 2003 11:14 pm


Return to Freepia Ideas

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

cron